My New Adventure!

USR Robotics Modem banks at an ISP.

Image via Wikipedia

 

Starting Wed July 14, 2010 I am kicking off a New Adventure! I have decided to start blogging about how us Computer heads managed before the Internet existed! Yes, it is hard to believe that something came before the Internet as we know it today…but something did exist! It was called BBSing (Bulletin Board Systems). People dialed into local systems using a modem and a Telnet client and was able to join in message bases around the world (Fidonet etc.), it would sometimes take a few days to a week to get a reply…but man was it worth it. You could also play simple text-based games against other members of the BBS and of course you could download files from the BBS if the SYSOP trusted you! (System Operator)
I will be Spotlighting a different (Still Running) BBS each and every Wed and I have set it up to post to my Facebook page in case any one is interested in following me down memory lane! 

Every now and then I might throw in a Friday or Saturday Night Special!
So pay attention!
 

Don’t forget to sign up for  

To join my BBS click on Tommys’ World BBS (Above) ( I just had to start it back up!)
To view other BBS‘s, please scroll down this page.
(These will open in a new window)
Flash Telnet Interface: Click Here 

Web Interface:               Click Here 

Telnet Interface:           Click Here 

About Tom Huff

Just a good ol boy :)
This entry was posted in BBS - Information and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My New Adventure!

  1. greg says:

    look forward to the flashbacks!

  2. epic says:

    I’m looking forward to it as well. After a long break, I’m taking the time to set up a new BBS for one more run.

  3. Tom Huff says:

    Let me know when it is up and I will post it here!
    Thanks for the comment!

  4. Wonderful site and theme, would really like to see a bit more content though!
    Great post all around, added your XML feed! Love this theme, too!

  5. Amazing post. I have bookmarked your site. I am looking forward to reading more

  6. mro says:

    please check out these free bbs services

    http://irc.bbses.info bbs chat
    http://bbsbanner.bbses.info bbs banner site for sysops
    http://bbstorrents.bbses.info bbs/hacking files
    http://bbslist.bbses.info elite bbs list

  7. mro says:

    please check out these free bbs services

    irc.bbses.info bbs chat
    bbsbanner.bbses.info bbs banner site for sysops
    bbstorrents.bbses.info bbs/hacking files
    bbslist.bbses.info elite bbs list

  8. mro says:

    sorry about the double post. didnt show up for me when i had http://

    i replied to your email from my yahoo address

Leave a Reply

