Paranor BBS

The Sword of Shannara

Image via Wikipedia

 

Paranor BBS (Main)     

Welcome to Paranor BBS on the WEB!     

Have you ever visited a BBS from the late 80’s through the mid 90’s? If not then you are in for a treat.     

Through here, you will be introduced to the BBS. The network that started it all, and before the Internet/Web Bulletin Boards is where the action was taking place.     

This is the homepage for what is now up, and running Paranor BBS. Click the link below to go to my BBS.     

History: Back in 1990 I finally purchased my first computer a Tandy 1000SL, and soon realised that there must be more to owning a computer than playing games. I soon came to purchase a 1200 baud mode, and started to visit local bulletin boards which at that time came to a grand total of 3. I got hooked, and my first Bulletin Board I created was called Mycroft (from the book “The Moon is a harsh Mistress“#, using the Citadel BBS software. I soon upgraded to using the Wildcat software with a 2400 baud modem, and finally decided on Paranor for my new BBS name which has been with me for many, many years. The name Paranor came from another book called “The Sword of Shannara“.     

At the moment we have DOVE-NET message areas for you to take part in, including some doors to help pass the time away. The messages #Dove-Net# are QWK compatible, meaning you can download messages at your leisure, and upload your QWK packet to the BBS when your ready to send along your posts.     

via Home – Paranor BBS on the WEB!.     

http://paranorbbs.webs.com/  

Telnet://paranorbbs.no-ip.org   

Note: the web side of the site was working, but I could not connect to the Telnet side of the BBS  

If you are wishing to login using a terminal program, please go to the sites listed below.     

1>  Syncterm (created by Synchronet *FREE*)     

2> ZOC (The best terminal program. The options are staggering)     

I happen to use both, this doesn’t make me an expert on these programs, it only makes me fortunate that I came across such great software.     

Wishing to read the mail offline, please download Multimail.     

To download the Paranor QWK (Mail Packet) click HERE.     

(You must have installed an offline mail reader like the MultiMail program Above).     

About Tom Huff

Just a good ol boy :)
This entry was posted in BBS - In The Spotlight!, BBS - Synchronet and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Paranor BBS

  1. skelpenny says:

    Adequate evening! Communication describing my work is literally completed, proceed to out of tune with implementation.

Leave a Reply

